Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Enthusiast

Tracking my Gen IV ACR

I just wanted to write and let you all know how much fun I've had with my ACR recently. I got the car about a year ago and hadn't been able to drive it much since I was living in one state and it was living in another (long story).

However, recently we've been reunited and I got to drive it quite a bit. Best of all, I finally got to take it to the track. The car lives in Utah, so the place to go is Larry Miller Motor Speedway. I took it to their Wide Open Wednesday and was able to do one session of 25 minutes with an instructor. It was awesome!!!! I can't believe how well the car handles and how capable it is. I'm a beginner driver and found the car very easy to drive. You just have to respect it and remember to be smooth. I disagree with the belief some people have that the car is hard to drive and a brute. You just can't expect the car to baby you and take care of you. I know this for a fact because I did spin the car, but it was my fault.

During one of the last laps, I started to push it and came into a turn a little fast. I got nervous and stabbed at the brakes which was just enough to unsettle the rear end and send it sliding out. If I was a better driver I could have saved it. Thanks to reading a lot of post on here I knew to put both feet down (clutch and brake) and the car came to a quick stop in the middle of the track after doing less than half a turn.

The best thing about the event was I learned about NASA and the full weekend events they have. I was able to take the car to a full day of HPDE 1 driving. I got 4 sessions on Saturday and one on Sunday. (Wife said I had to spend most of Sunday with her. I'm still working on getting her bitten. Apparently she is immune to Viper venom. However, I did see her giggle one time when she took off from a stop light when she was driving the ACR. Maybe there is hope.)