Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Enthusiast

Oil Pan bolt Leak

I've had a small amount of oil around the pan for some time with frequent drips to the floor below and finally cleaned up the area to create a fresh surface for diagnosis. In no time at all, seepage was seen in spots all around the pan, seemingly originating from several pan bolt locations. All oil pan bolts are at factory torque. I'll try attaching photos here. Has anyone else experienced this? I'm assuming the gasket is bad, but it's an odd appearance to me. Though, admittedly, I'm a but of a novice here.

If I'm correct, and the gasket needs replacing, does anyone have one they'd like to sell me for less than what Roe is currently charging? (I understand the law of supply/demand is not working in my favor).

IMG_5413.jpgIMG_5414.jpgIMG_5412.jpg

Enthusiast
    Driving around with contaminated fluids braking at 95% while squirting WD40 in people's locks
    Yes.

Maybe not.

Why would someone sell you a gasket for less than retail that they likely paid retail for? Really?

If you want to try a cheap repair take the affected bolts out one at a time. Clean them to an oil free status with brake clean or something. Using a rag and q-tips clean the area on the engine around the bolt and inside the bolt hole. Put blue RTV on the bolt threads but be careful not to get it on the very end where the threads start. You don't want the RTV up into the threaded hole. Torque to spec and move on to the next one. Might want to allow the RTV to cure for a day before driving again.

Enthusiast
    Quote Originally Posted by dave6666 View Post
    Why would someone sell you a gasket for less than retail that they likely paid retail for? Really?
    Dave, I'm not looking for a martyr here. But perhaps someone has multiple, purchased for much less than the going rate today, and would like to make a sale.

Thanks for your input.