PDA

View Full Version : New Gen V owner in Virginia/DC

dethred
08-04-2015, 09:10 PM
I've been posting on here for several months, but I figured I might as well make an intro thread.

I am 32, and have been fortunate enough to be able to afford my dream car. I have been into Vipers since I was about 10 years old, and spent all of my teenage years dreaming of having a Gen II coupe, and basically made it my short-term goal. Well, over 15 years later it has arrived, albeit in the form of a much-improved and refined car. It is a bit irresponsible to be buying what is effectively a second toy, but I have had degenerative rheumatoid arthritis for the past 14 years, and that might make driving cars like this impossible by my 40th birthday (I already struggle to get into most cars).

I originally planned on buying an M4 coupe and taking my girlfriend on a European Delivery vacation (may still do that now), but then the C7 Z06 was released with a comparable price, so I planned on buying one of those instead. Fast-forward to November/December time frame, and I was checking out the first few Z06 coupes arriving at Criswell Chevrolet. After being somewhat underwhelmed with the Z06 and put off from what amounted to about 50 Corvettes sitting on their lot (talk about blending in), I walked over to the Criswell Dodge Dealership.

As I was about to walk into the showroom, I looked on the Corvette forum and saw Nineball's video of him humiliating the new Z. I then walked into the showroom, and immediately fell in love (again) with the Gen V pair they had in the showroom. Talk about a contrast, the Viper has a presence that the Vette didn't even begin to approach. I was still somewhat undecided, as the sticker price was out of my budget at the time, and I was unaware of the 15k price drop earlier in the year. When I got back home and did some research, I learned that I could find a Viper for no more than the cost of a loaded Z06. I was sold!