PDA

View Full Version : Texas Mile Results, or Lack Thereof.

FrgMstr
03-30-2015, 05:44 PM
Back from a GREAT weekend at Texas Mile. Always a fun time going fast, even if you are not going as fast as you want to.

First off let me say that I am not a professional racer by any stretch of the imagination, or will likely ever be. And I have little experience with straight line racing or roll racing. That said, we did learn a lot of things not to do this weekend.

When we left for Texas Mile the car had be previously set up to run at CoTA (http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1828425). This is NOT the way to have the car setup for the Texas Mile.

Our first runs on Friday were about the only chance we had to get our 190mph+ goal runs in. Weather was great with just a couple mile per hour tailwind.

First pass was 155 at the half and 180.5 at the mile. This car did 161/186 two years ago, albeit with a ~20mph tailwind. That was with 584hp and we are now around 615hp. The car was having all sort of trouble staying planted with tons of wheelspin through all 5 gears gears. We were breaking traction above 160mph in 5th. Car was bouncing bad. Watching down the track I saw several other cars that were bouncing badly too. It has been two years since I have been out there, so I chalked it up to the track/runway aging since no maintenance is done for the most part.

On my second run after lunch, same thing with car feeling like it was coming off the ground, and it occurred to me while I was bouncing along that the adjustable suspension was set up too stiff. No way the track had gotten that bad and they were still allowing racing. We borrowed a jack in the paddock and knocked the wheels off and set the suspension to full soft. All done and back in grid in less than 30 minutes.