PDA

View Full Version : Brake Upgrade? Need serious recommendations

JasonSSG
12-13-2014, 11:38 PM
I've seen so many posts over the past few years Im not sure where to start. I have a bone stock '09 SRT Coupe. Im going to need new pads soon. I track my car 50% of the miles I put on it (dont get to much street use anymore with work schedule), I definately want to put steel braided lines on it when I replace the pads. Any recommendations on a brake kit and also what pads would best suit me. Race brake fluid also?

Thanks

rlhay2
12-14-2014, 08:58 AM
Brake fluid: Castrol SRF.

I've no experience with Viper brake lines or brake pads...yet.

RedTanRT/10
12-14-2014, 09:34 AM
Jason, If you want better brakes and you're tracking 50% of your miles, start with upgrading your rotors and go to the StopTech 2 piece aero rotors (like the ACR's use). In addition to better braking, you drop close to 10 lbs per corner and that unsprung weight will help cornering/handling.

For pads lot's of good options, I run Brakeman pads, Raybestos has good pads too.

StopTech has s/s brake lines made for vipers that are pretty reasonable.

For fluid I use Motul 600

Reach out to JonB @ Parts Rack for rotors, pads and lines. He'll get you a good price on all and will help you on a pad recommendation based on where you track. Motul can be found locally. Good luck, Mike

Tom, F&L GoR
12-14-2014, 10:59 AM
Add this and you will never have to worry about the fluid overheating again. With every pedal application, fresh fluid is pushed into the caliper; with every pedal release, old fluid is allow to move towards master cylinder. 803880398040

IndyRon
12-14-2014, 12:30 PM