PDA

View Full Version : Advise Wanted for Collecting 1:18 Scale Viper Models

dbow119
02-23-2014, 11:43 PM
I have a 2003 Viper and I'm trying to collect models of my car. I figured the 1:18 scale would be the best choice as they would probably be the most detailed. I'm new to collecting so other than an unopened box, I really don't know what to look for so your help in that category would be appreciated. I also noticed there are many different makes at different prices. Which brands would you consider to be the most collectible? I noticed Autoart appears to be the most expensive brand...is it worth the additional money? Any advise would be appreciated.

Kurt
02-24-2014, 12:26 AM
For 2003, you have quite a few options. I agree that 1:18 scale is the way to go. AutoArt, while the most expensive, also offers the highest quality for 2003. They made the 2003 SRT-10 in 2 scale (1:18 and 1:43) and 3 colors: red, silver, and black. They are pretty easy to get these days, and are reasonably priced for what you get. They pop up on eBay pretty often at anywhere from $50-75 for 1:18 scale. There is also a "Prototype" version that has the Gen II engine. Those are a little more rare.

Maisto also produced the SRT-10 in the same 3 colors in 1:18 scale, and they are definitely the best bang for your buck. For around $20, you get a nicely detailed model. A great place to start for a new collector. You can also get the Miasto cars in 1:24 scale.

Ertl also produced the SRT-10 in 1:18 scale. They are similar to Maisto in detail (I would give Maisto a slight edge), but they are also reasonably priced at around $20. They offered red, black, yellow, and white in 1:18 scale. And they also offer red, black, yellow, and silver in 1:64 scale (under the Racing Champions brand).

Greenlight has also done several SRT-10s in 1:64, 1:43, and a 1:24 as well.

Welly made a 1:24, which is the least detailed of what's available.