PDA

View Full Version : Any Aftermarket Thermostats

MellowYellow_GTS
06-02-2018, 10:35 AM
Do they make any aftermarket thermostats for the Gen V?
Looking to get temps down with maybe a 160 degree thermo? Any options? Search didn't really pull up anything.

Also, side note. I picked up the K&N intake really cheap. Is it worth putting on? I have an Arrow ECU, but haven't installed it yet.
I'm just trying to keep this motor as cool as possible. Any ideas?

Thanks,

Darin

Steve-Indy
06-02-2018, 01:52 PM
I think that this a commonly misunderstood concept.

sadil
06-03-2018, 01:00 AM
This motor barely has cooling issues on the track. You are not going to have cooling issues on the street. I was tracking this weekend (I am a beginner), ambient was 93F and I didn’t see temps higher than 122C. I was in 2nd and 3rd the whole time. Don’t waste your time trying to cool the engine further. Running cooler is not always better.

I wouldn’t bother with Arrow controller and K&N, I personally think it is a waste. Just drive the shit out of the car as is. Down the road if you want more do the full headers and high flow cats along with tune for some extra juice. When you are ready and if you don’t mind dropping 15k, you have the real performance add in options. The H/C package or 9L is the real next big step in performance. Both combined are monstrous.

MellowYellow_GTS
06-03-2018, 08:30 AM
This motor barely has cooling issues on the track. You are not going to have cooling issues on the street. I was tracking this weekend (I am a beginner), ambient was 93F and I didn’t see temps higher than 122C. I was in 2nd and 3rd the whole time. Don’t waste your time trying to cool the engine further. Running cooler is not always better.