PDA

View Full Version : After BJ auction results for American cars any stated value insurance recommedations

Scott_in_fl
01-22-2018, 11:06 AM
Just got off the phone with a buddy that is a big seller of older Pcars, mainly at the Mecum auctions. He's getting ready for Amelia Island. Anyway, we got to talking about the BJ results this weekend and he thought the action on the American cars was outstanding, and long overdue. He seems to think the trend will continue.

If so, and if we're going to own cars that potentially become worth more than what we paid, it seems that a stated value policy should be considered.

I currently use State Farm, and they seem to be just fine for the daily driven cars. But what about the garage queens?

Does anyone have a good recommendation for a company/agent to speak with? I expect to drive about 3k miles per year.

Thanks in advance.

Jhawk
01-22-2018, 11:24 AM
I have been using Grundy MVP for the past 3 years http://www.grundy.com/mvp/ (866) 338-4006. Requires you to carry insurance on your daily driver along with your exotic (using agreed to value). For me here in Michigan Grundy MVP has been much cheaper than buying separate policies.

bassplayrr
01-22-2018, 12:09 PM
I just finished cross shopping both Grundy and Hagerty. Both were within the same ballpark price-wise (Grundy being slightly less expensive). In the end I pulled the trigger on Grundy based solely on the customer service I'd received up to that point. I literally just mailed the check last week, so that's about the extent of my experience with them.

ViperGeorge
01-22-2018, 01:10 PM
American National is who I use. They insure my daily drivers, my Vipers, and my 68 Shelby GT350. Good rates.

Policy Limits
01-22-2018, 01:30 PM
I think op is looking for a value policy, not a liability one. Is an appraisal required?

kriskyk
01-22-2018, 01:59 PM
Call Chubb, they have agreed value, no milage limitations policies

Correction meant agreed value

ForTehNguyen