PDA

View Full Version : Stock cats to hi flow cats need recommendations

YJK
08-09-2017, 09:47 PM
I just got a 2001 rt/10. My first drive was 98 outside temp. In just 10 miles i was feeling the heat at my side. Opened the door and the sill could burn your hand. I dont want to make it louder, this has to be the quietest car i own. But a little won't hurt. So i have spent several hours reading posts about cats. What i have not found much is model numbers our brands that work well for the viper. I just want to change out the stock cats for hi flows.

I am a mech contractor, i can weld, so i would like to do the work myself. There are dozens of cats out there that look like they will work. So anyone have model numbers that will work please let me know.

I also plan on upgrading the heat sheilds in the side sills.
Thanks

MacGyvers Mullet
08-09-2017, 10:24 PM
Have you considered a cat removal and tune? You could get more bang out of your buck and still have lower temps than high flows. I have done a cat removal and proper tune (along with corsa cat back) and it was the best mod(s) that I could have done to the car.

uvbnbit
08-10-2017, 05:43 AM
Hi flows will reduce heat, No cats will practically get rid of all of it. HUGE difference. I was catless for 6 yrs, but fumes were excessive, bumper stain on silver car got old buffing, polishing, wet sanding it out etc. Never could seem to tune it out (without spending significant $$). I doubt you'll need to change sill insulation if you go to hi flows. They [insulation] are pricey too.

plumcrazy
08-10-2017, 05:49 AM
get rid of the cats and install a bullet muffler in its place

98RedGTS
08-10-2017, 09:26 AM
Couple of option.

You can buy a kit from Jon B or Roe that has the cats already welded to the correct length of pipe. You then just cut your current ones out and clamp the new ones in (can also weld them too).