PDA

View Full Version : Poll: Should the next ACR be Blown?

Newport Viper
01-12-2014, 11:00 PM
Should the next ACR have a blower to crush the competiton?

I "think" Ralph said somewhere that the next ACR will be radical.... Do you think it will have one?

VENOM V
01-12-2014, 11:45 PM
I'm somewhere between no and maybe. I prefer the reliability and simplicity of normally aspirated. I hope the "radical" is in the area of active aero, more sophisticated suspension, brakes and weight reduction. I'd prefer a DCT over forced induction. The Viper doesn't really need much more power to be a world beater on the track.

That said, if heat soak can be properly managed, forced induction would not be the end of the world. I wonder if the low end torque of a big V10 like ours could be combined with turbos to reduce the effects of lag. I'm no expert but I would imagine that turbos are more efficient than superchargers, have a lower CG, and may package better without the need to radically change the Gen V.

So we may not need it, but with all of the 700+ HP fans out there, I suppose it could help sell Vipers.

05Commemorative
01-12-2014, 11:50 PM
I sure hope not. The last think a track guy wants is a blower. In my opinion, the ACR is for the track. Not street racing, not bragging about HP, not posing. Just about going to the track weekend after weekend, handling long sessions with no fuss. My experience in past 8 yrs of tracking is no blown car ever consistently been there. All eventually have problems. Just look over the years for your most common, competent and competitive track cars and they are NA.

Forget the magazine one lap wonder times as they really don't matter for the ACR.

Make it lighter, more aero, bigger brakes, maybe some body mods (different hood), paint it however you want and call it good. Sure, all would like a bit more power, but don't sacrifice the car w/a blower. Just my opinion.

VRYALT3R3D
01-12-2014, 11:51 PM