PDA

View Full Version : Gen V Viper resources in the Knoxville area?

ygbsm
10-30-2015, 09:24 AM
Hello all- seriously considering a Gen V Viper for my next weekend street/ track toy. Over the last 10 years I've done a bunch of schools at most of the tracks in the South, mostly with the BMWCCA. I've learned that hanging out with fellow marque enthusiasts is great fun and a great way to learn. But I am a newbie to the world of Vipers (I've never even driven one!) and I need some help.

- are there any good Viper techs in the Knoxville area? If not, where do y'all go for warranty work or major issues beyond routine maintenance? Corvette, BMW, and Porsche have local support through clubs and dealers- but I don't know about the Viper community.

- I will need to test drive one- should I drive all the way to Atlanta to Palmer Dodge- or do you guys know a friendly dealer that will let me test drive one?

- Any good dealers or salesman you recommend in the Knoxville area? I have had excellent experiences with Lenoir City CDJR, but I don't think they have any expertise in Vipers. I have an acquaintance who is a salesman at Jim Cogdill, but they don't seem too enthusiastic about Vipers.

-Anything else y'all would recommend about learning about buying and owning a Viper?

Thanks!!!

TCurtner
11-01-2015, 09:39 AM
I've heard, and about to find out tuesday about 2 viper techs at Cogdill Dodge (www.jimcogdilldodge.com ) (having controller put in my Gen IV) - also Jim Bumblebee (Knoxville area, 06 bumblebee) says Swann (SP?) is his go-to viper tech at Cogdill. Unsure of GenV, but the motors are certainly siblings, and i'd say if the dealership has sent them to tech classes on the III/IV, then they either have or will send them to V training...You might want to call the service manager there and find out. From your input, sounds like they may not sell any, but do service them???